Are You Out of Your Mind?

As a Christian, have you ever felt like you were losing your mind? Have you felt so far detached from this world and its values that you thought you were losing it? Have you been through so much rejection on this earth that you felt like you were about to mentally check out for good? Well, I have been there. And you know what? That is exactly what God is doing to us as we seek Him and His kingdom… unplugging us from being worldly minded any longer.

In Romans Paul wrote, “Be not conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind.” Actually, the Greek word translated “renewing” is not done justice. This translation comes closer… “And be not conformed to this world: but be reformed in the newness of your mind, that you may prove what is the good and the acceptable and the perfect will of God.” (Romans 12:2 DRB). If we are to be truly converted from being the old creatures we were in Adam, we must be made into a new creation IN Christ who is our life. The word translated “transformed” in the above verse is the Greek word metamorpho from which we get the word “metamorphosis.” A caterpillar has a mind to crawl around on a bush and eat its leaves. But once metamorphosis takes place it has the mind of a butterfly to sore in the sky and suck nectar from the flowers. Its old earth bound mind had to be completely changed to be compatible with its new creature life.

So it is for our new lives in Christ as well. We are no longer of the first Adam, earth bound and focused on the lower elements of life in this world system, but we are a new creation with a new mind fit for living in heavenly places in Christ Jesus. For our complete transformation to happen we need a new mind to live in HIS kingdom subject to the Father and not to the god of this world system. We who are Christ’s are literally out of our minds and totally into HIS. Paul wrote, “For who has known the mind of the Lord, that he may instruct him? But we have the mind of Christ” (1 Corinthians 2:16 KJ2000). To live in Christ and do His will we must have HIS mind, not our own. We literally have to be out of our minds!

What is the sign that we are living by the mind of Christ? Paul wrote, “Let this mind be in you, which was also in Christ Jesus: Who, being in the form of God, thought it not a thing to be grasped to be equal with God: But made himself of no reputation, and took upon him the form of a servant…” (Philippians 2:5-7 KJ2000). To be worldly minded is to have a mind that seeks to rise above all men and exalt ourselves over them. To have the mind of Christ is to seek the lowest places of service and not to make a reputation for ourselves, but rather we live for the reputation of the lowly servant Christ. To our fellow man we seem to be week and out of our minds and are often disdained because we have the smell of death about us for the old Adam must die for us to have the mind of Christ. Paul wrote to the carnal Christians in Corinth, “For whether we be beside ourselves, it is to God: or whether we be in our right mind, it is for your cause. For the love of Christ constrains us…” (2 Corinthians 5:13-14 KJ2000). We in our right minds, the mind of Christ, serve one another because of His great love that abides in our hearts. Unselfish love for others is another sign that we have the mind of Christ abiding in us as the Father’s transformed creatures in the Son.

Paul wrote, “If so be that you have heard him [Christ], and have been taught by him, as the truth is in Jesus: That you put off concerning the former way of life the old man, which is corrupt according to the deceitful lusts; And be renewed in the spirit of your mind; And that you put on the new man, which after God is created in righteousness and true holiness” (Ephesians 4:21-24 KJ2000). Metamorphosis! We put off that old life as a lowly earthbound worm and by the power of God we put on our new heavenly life in Christ and receive the Truth which is found in Him in our renewed mind of the Spirit as God’s Spirit-born beings, walking in His righteousness and holiness. It all hinges on our receiving a new mind, the mind of Christ and putting off the old “ that you no longer walk as other Gentiles walk, in the vanity of their minds.”

Each of us having the mind of Christ is also where our unity comes from. Paul wrote, “If there be therefore any consolation in Christ, if any comfort of love, if any fellowship of the Spirit, if any affections and mercies, Fulfill you my joy, that you be like minded, having the same love, being of one accord, of one mind” (Philippians 2:1-2 KJ2000). Our consolation and comfort in love with its affections and mercies all come from our fellowship in the Spirit as we have the same mind… the mind of Christ. Without the mind of Christ in each of us we will never know unity in His love. Most Christians today think that they can keep their own minds, but as long as they all believe the same things they will have unity. Sorry, but it doesn’t work. To believe the same doctrines with your old minds will not make us loving selfless servants in Christ’s love toward one another. To have Christ’s mind is to have His heart as well, filled with the only thing that binds us together… the love of God.

 Brethren, I count not myself to have apprehended: but this one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind, and reaching forth unto those things which are before, I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus. Let us therefore, as many as would be perfect, be thus minded: and if in anything you be otherwise minded, God shall reveal even this unto you. (Philippians 3:13-15 KJ2000)

8 comments on “Are You Out of Your Mind?

  1. mike says:

    I found this article in a timely manner. Great, I needed that! Keep them coming, they are the little fellowship I get.

    Like

  2. michaeldc110 says:

    Thanks, Mike. As I hear Him sharing with me, I will try and post what I get. Glad you were blessed.

    Like

  3. Maureen says:

    Hello. I came across your blog today, via your website, whose link I found on another site (love the internet, esp. when Holy Spirit directs my “surfing”). I do sometimes, esp. lately, feel I am losing my mind. I left “church” 4 years ago, was blessed with a biblical church for 3 years, then that fell apart. I went back to “church” briefly, but could not continue, the Lord would not let me. Now I find myself filled with an overwhelming desire to come away from EVERYTHING that is not of Him, in that I am so tired of being polite with people, holding back what I truly believe in, in order not to rock their boat. I see what is wrong in the church, it is a system steeped in error from the ground up….I am heartbroken at the scope of how bent it all is, and feeling so powerless to do ANYTHING about it…feeling so outnumbered, so few seem to care at all, and so many are content to play along with tradition and leave it at that. I won’t even go back to the “cell” group I was in…even it was run by an “elder” who had his instructions from the “Pastor”…..I will keep seeking God, and I know He will bring me into a true fellowship if that is His will….God bless you. I will keep reading your blog and articles. Beresford Job has been a huge encouragement to me also (I’m sure you know of him, if not, here is a link http://www.house-church.org/ )

    Like

    • michaeldc110 says:

      Dear Maureen,

      Thank you for your wonderful comment. You are on a journey as are all those who have set their hearts to take up their cross and follow Jesus. That journey if we stay the coarse, will take us outside the camp of Christendom, but our love for Jesus and His call upon us will help us to overcome the reproach we suffer from those we once had “fellowship” with. I also had a functional “church” for a season, but it was torn apart by a cult that rose up in its midst. I can look back now and see that it, too, was part of the journey. I have also been part of the house church movement for a season, but even that was not the destination God had for me.

      You see, as long as we have our eyes fixed on trying to find the right church or church system, we are missing the goal. The goal is our high callings to abide IN Christ as our ALL in all. We are to fix our eyes on HIM alone, not a system or even a gathering of believers. We are to come to the place where we truly see that “IN Him we live and move and have our being.” This is what the kingdom of God is that we are to seek first. THIS is abiding in HIS righteousness as we abide IN Him. I have concluded that only as we have been grafted INTO Jesus as our only Life Source and abide there IN Him, this is the only place where true fellowship happens. We first abide in and rest IN Him and then where two or three are gathered IN Him, then we can have REAL fellowship first with the Father and the Son and then with others who also have that same fellowship.

      So, dear sister, keep calling out to the Father to keep pruning away from you all that is not of Christ and His eternal plan for you. Let His mind be fully formed in you until His ways are your ways and His thoughts are your thoughts.

      May He fill you with His love for all those around you,

      Michael

      Like

  4. Maureen says:

    Michael, your reply resonates with my heart. Once again, God provides comfort along the way. Even though I know I should only be satisfied with Him, still, He knows what we are made of. I feel everything falling away from me, but my contentment only increases.
    Your reply stirred my heart, and I posted this on my blog this morning. God continue to bless you in your seeking of Him, and in your encouragement to others.

    http://onedayatatime-melanie.blogspot.ca/2012/07/deep-calls-to-deep.html

    Like

    • michaeldc110 says:

      Maureen, as I read your testimony about how you traded one kind of boat for another I was blessed that you finally got out of the boats altogether and followed Christ’s bidding for you, as it was with Peter, to come to Him alone. Boats are-man made and as such, not of the kingdom of God. Jesus is calling each of us to come to Him by faith IN Him alone. For all too long we relied on man-made institutions to get us to our heavenly goal, but are now finally discovering that ONLY IN HIM do we live and move and have our beings, not the conveyances of men.

      Like

  5. Sandra says:

    Thanks Michael and Maureen for sharing your journey. We have been out of the man made organisations for over 20 years but recently have attended a few churches just to have some contact with other Christians. The people have been lovely, but we have to be so careful not to rock the boat and it is taking its toll, on me in particular. After the last ‘fellowship tea’ in which the pastor acted like a dictator, it took so long for me to get back to feeling ok again. Beforehand I think I’ll be ok and know what is going on, but the reality is that it messes with my mind and spirit trying to hide my true feelings about what they believe and accept as normal.
    And yes, we are going through the metamorphosis and yes again, I have never felt crazier than I do now. It’s scary crazy, but I do believe that God started this process and will complete it.
    Very timely that I found this today as it was only a couple of nights ago I thought I had finally lost the plot and they would have to lock me up!

    Like

    • michaeldc110 says:

      Sandra,
      I know what you are going through in that church setting. On the one hand you hunger for fellowship and family, but in this setting you have to guard your every word for fear that someone will be offended because it doesn’t line up perfectly with what they have heard from the pulpit. You feel like you are being looked over with a microscope to see if there is anything in you that does not measure up. It is like tip-toeing through a field of daisies that is laced with land mines!

      On the other hand you are confronted with an overbearing church leader who demands conformity on every point and at the same time the Spirit is telling you that many of his teachings are twisted and false. Even if his words are right out of the Bible, the overlording way in which they are presented as law, not leaving room for the Holy Spirit to bring us to repentance by the love of the Lord… that too is condemning and confusing.

      So, for me, going back to Sunday church was like beating my head against a brick wall…. it felt so good when I quit!

      Sandra, I will be praying that the Lord continues to lead you into His freedom that is ours as we walk after the Spirit of Christ and obey HIS voice and find that Jesus alone has everything we need. Then when we find another of this same mind… it is here that we find real fellowship in the Son.

      Like

Leave a Reply

