Listening = Love

Here is something shared by a dear sister that many of us need to take to heart… the art of listening.

IMG_38493083347704

One of the greatest gifts I have experienced being in a recovery program is the gift of women who listen without trying to “fix” me. Though I’m not a big fan of rules, one of the small group guidelines states “We are not here to fix one another. God is the fixer.” The gift of people who listen has helped me find the voice that I locked in a dungeon long ago.

I love what Henri Nouwen says about listening:

Listening as Spiritual Hospitality

To listen is very hard, because it asks of us so much interior stability that we no longer need to prove ourselves by speeches, arguments, statements, or declarations. True listeners no longer have an inner need to make their presence known. They are free to receive, to welcome, to accept.

Listening is much more than allowing another to talk while waiting for a chance to respond. 

View original post 73 more words

6 comments on “Listening = Love

  1. Kennth Dawson says:

    The lord is always telling me to shut up because all I do is complain or I want to argue with Him or someone else so I have been learning to listen and then my response is so much better.kind of reminds me of what it means to wait upon the Lord.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Michael says:

    He confronted me with this verse years ago, “A fool utters all his mind: but a wise man keeps it in till afterwards.” (Proverbs 29:11 KJ2000). I was wondering when the “afterwards” would be for I was always one to say whatever came to mind. He said, “A wise man only speaks AFTER all the fools are through talking.” Talk about instant conviction!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pat Orr says:

    I wasn’t sure what Christina was saying as opposed to when she was quoting Henri Nouwen. However, I liked it all. Only a few years before Nouwen died I had the privilege of being in a gathering to hear him speak. I don’t remember what he said, but I do remember it was a joy to hear him.

    I pray that we truly learn to listen for the benefit of the person speaking. If I am not careful I can be guilty of doing whatever I do for my benefit. Listening for my benefit is not the best motive. I want to listen for the love of the speaker. I also pray that I could be motivated to speak for the love of the listener. Being motivated by love, yes, yes. that is my prayer

    In His love,
    Pat Orr

    Liked by 1 person

    • Michael says:

      Thanks for adding your thoughts to this Pat… I KNOW I have so much further to go in this matter and know that only the work of His cross in my heart will get me there. Less of me and more of Him.

      Love you too, my sister.
      Michael.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

